top of page

The Iyengar yoga Center of Brussels   on Google Maps   *

The Iyengar yoga Center in South Corsica  on Google Maps

For regular motorized students, choose the visitor's card

                 

Summer 2024: from 1 July to 31 August from Monday to Friday classes at 10.00am & 6.00pm, Saturday 9.30 & 11.15 am  The levels will be mixed. 

No class on Sat 20 July,      Classes only at 6.30pm on 22, 23 & 24 July.

No class on 15 & 16/08. 

You do not have to reserve  a class. You register on the premisses and pay the class (18€) or the 10 class card (150€) in cash or through the bank app on your smartphone directly to the teacher. No credit card.

​`

All classes and levels resume on 2 September with new schedule

New schedule by levels      Workshops   

New class for students with minor ailments 

 

Willy Bok and Rita Poelvoorde opened this centre in July 2017 in Ixelles in a back house located near Place Flagey. The center had been inaugurated in Etterbeek in 2008. Eight certified teachers have now joined them. The classes are given in two rooms with the props at the students’ disposal.

 

The yoga method which  follows the teachings of Mr. BKS Iyengar (deceased 20.08.2014), an Indian yoga master living in Pune, India, where his daughter Geeta taught until her demise on 16.12.2018 and where his son Prashant and grand daughter Abhijata Sridhar teach in the Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute.

Mr. BKS Iyengar has reinforced the alignment in the postures, developed the intensity and duration of each posture as well as the art of sequencing to enhance the benefits on the physical, physiological, nervous, mental and spiritual components of health. In order to practice the postures (asanas) with proper alignment and safely, props such as blankets, wood blocks, belts, ropes, chairs, benches, suspensions … are used and put at the students’ disposal.

The method is systematic and progressive: it aims to first reinforce the student’s self confidence. The practitioner rediscovers his own body potential while limbering his joints and toning his muscles. The digestive, urogenital, respiratory, cardiac, nervous and hormonal systems are irrigated. The class closes with a deep relaxation; the student is freshened and revivified, ready to face the ups and downs of daily life.

bottom of page

1/4

Nous vous souhaitons santé, confiance, joie et sérénité

Horaire des cours    

 

Bienvenue sur le site du Centre de Yoga BKS Iyengar de Bruxelles à Ixelles, ainsi que celui des cours et stages en Corse du Sud. 

 

Willy Bok et Rita Poelvoorde ont ouvert ce centre en juillet 2017 à Ixelles dans une arrière maison située près de la place Flagey. Le centre avait été inauguré à Etterbeek en 2008. Huit professeurs assistants les ont désormais rejoints. Les cours sont dispensés dans deux salles avec les accessoires à disposition des élèves.

 

La méthode de yoga qui suit les enseignements de M. BKS Iyengar (14.12.1918- 20.08.2014), maître de yoga à Pune, en Inde, de sa fille Geeta  (7.12.1944-16.12.2018) de son fils Prashant et sa petite fille Abhijata Sridhar, enseignant au Ramamani Iyengar Memorial Yoga Institute.

M. BKS Iyengar a renforcé l'alignement dans les postures, développé l'intensité et la durée de chaque posture ainsi que l'art de l'enchaînement pour renforcer les bienfaits sur les composantes physiques, physiologiques, nerveuses, mentales et spirituelles de la santé. Afin de pratiquer les postures (asanas) avec un alignement correct et en toute sécurité, des accessoires tels que des couvertures, des blocs de bois, des ceintures, des cordes, des chaises, des bancs, des suspensions... sont utilisés et mis à la disposition des élèves.

La méthode est systématique et progressive : elle vise d'abord à renforcer la confiance en soi de l'élève. Le pratiquant redécouvre son propre potentiel corporel tout en assouplissant ses articulations et en tonifiant ses muscles. Les systèmes digestif, urogénital, respiratoire, cardiaque, nerveux et hormonal sont irrigués. Le cours se termine par une relaxation profonde ; l'étudiant est rafraîchi et revivifié, prêt à affronter les aléas de la vie quotidienne.